“Let it bee, yeah, let it bee”

Lauren & Grandma 10-20-18.JPG

Lauren hugs Grandma 10-20-18.JPG

Q: What did one hair say to another strand of hair?

A: It takes 2 to tangle!

Such was the scene at my house Saturday afternoon. My Mom had just returned home with her eldest granddaughter after the two pals picked up some books at the local library. One page-turner focused on fun experiments so they selected one right away & boiled water; the next step was to place candy corn in a container of the boiled water, as well as in a different container of warm water, to observe how the candy reacted. (The candy corn coating came off in the boiling water dish.)

The 3 of us – my lovely 8-year-old niece, her beloved Grandma & I – were then sitting around the kitchen table sharing jokes from another just-bought book. The game that my niece invented on the spot was, of the two listeners of the joke, whoever laughs first loses. We passed around the joke book to whoever guessed the punch line correctly first, that is, if we even did answer the Q & A humor right in the first place.

In honor of the Michigan football game that day at noon televised on Fox, my niece donned a stylish U of M outfit of their school colors. In fact, when a Fed Ex delivery man arrived & asked which team we were rooting for, my Mom answered by calling the head-to-toe maize & blue girl to the front door to see the answer for himself.

Subsequent to our joke contest, the thick as thieves pair went on to compete in the card game “Old Maid” on the large family room rug . . .  but not until my Mom & I were both hopelessly stumped by the one final joke delivered by my niece, where of course the right reply made perfect sense once revealed, but that’s just hindsight bias talking:

Q: Why did the bee itch?

Drum roll, please:

A: It was covered in hives.

 

The End

By Aunt Amy

10-20-18

Lauren 10-20-2018.JPG

 

One thought on ““Let it bee, yeah, let it bee”

Leave a comment