Dad Department

DISCLAIMER: My Dad and I were unable to stop making each other burst out laughing uncontrollably trying to tape this few-seconds-long video yesterday, so our best attempt is shown.

 Cool Things About, or that I’ve Gleaned, from my Dad – whose favorite color is, you guessed it, orange

*** Just for the record, growing up my Mom always referred to things that she felt were more appropriate for her to do as stuff in the “Mom Department” while other activities leaned more towards the “Dad Department”

His advice about unwelcomed comments or opinions from anyone: “Let it roll off your back like water off a duck” or in other words, “Don’t let it bother you.”

My Dad leads a great example by being disciplined and regularly doing exercises given by his doctor. I also share his commitment to exercise, although my own take on staying fit, instead of stretching and the treadmill like him, involves lifting small weights and riding my recumbent exercise bike

 I value and have inherited my Dad’s strong work ethic to get things accomplished successfully. Often I’d do so much schoolwork, in both high school and college, that after being absent for a while due to cancer-related illness, I’d still be ahead of the game!

 I try to remind myself to imitate my Dad’s calm and easygoing demeanor.

My Dad’s healthy diet, which includes a tasty vegetable medley dish – with lots of onions that we love – cooked on his wok, also means there’s always enough good food for me to eat too! 

Posing for a vacation photo on Florida’s Siesta Key beach a few years ago by playfully punching around

My Dad & me posing for a vacation photo on Florida’s Siesta Key beach a few years ago by playfully punching around

Leave a comment