“Boys Will Be Joys”

“Grandma, help me pack Monopoly up!” her polite grandson called after his Dad arrived & he had to leave.

Grandma told the boy to leave it because she’ll take care of it; for the 4th grader on the pitch black winter evening, it was a school night.

The day prior another of my 7 nephews shared a joke after I started the joke swap by sharing one of his cousin’s latest laughable lines. My nephew delivered the funniest “Yo’ Mama” joke I’ve ever heard. In no way, of course, does the following humor reflect the considerate & thoughtful youngster’s own personal attitude. It’s just something he heard somewhere & went a little something like this:

“Yo’ mama’s so fat when she was in the ocean, a whale swam up to her & sang, ‘We are fa-mi-ly!’”

BAHAHAHAHAAAAAA! Good one.

How fun for me to be an aunt to 10 remarkable children, everywhere I turn something new & amusing happening. Nothing beats the chuckle-worthy honesty of growing little ones. Like, for instance, my 2 oldest nephews informing me upon witnessing me in the act during mealtime many years ago when they were just 6 & 8 –

way too young to realize that my facial paralysis was the unavoidable cause of it –

that it was very bad manners for me to chew with my mouth open. Likewise, returning to Monopoly, I couldn’t help but overhear my nephew & his Grandpa together enjoy their lively match. I don’t think either of the 2 realized at all just how loud they each got while they played the game.

“I can’t buy it,” said Grandpa referring to his inability to pay for the property he landed on after rolling the dice. “I’m po’.”

“Me too. I can’t afford anything!”

“You’re not really a criminal?” Grandpa asked his grandson later.

Replied the little guy who’d obviously landed atop the jailhouse – “Just visiting.”

And on & on they went. Guy talk. Increasing in volume as they spurred each other further on.

As a lover of all English language items myself, I was especially tickled hearing the astute 10-year-old utilizing his impressive elementary school education to scold his opponent. Evidently, well into their game the slang being slung his way grew rather intolerable:

“Stop saying “po’”,” the boy warned his Grandpa. “That’s grammatically incorrect.”

Ry & Dad play Monopoly 11-15-18.JPG

The End

By Aunt Amy

11-15-18

 

Leave a comment