“The Answer is YES”

10-9-17 3 oldest Mies kids.JPG

“A spoon in your belly button,” said my sister to her darling daughter of 1 who did just that besides opting to be with her mother in their kitchen. An act of oddity that only a mother could love. “Wow.”

Monday I was blessed to enjoy the day in the company of my older sister & her offspring of 4. How I love spending time with these children in my fabulous family!

“They put people in the trunk & they fix ’em,” she replied upon me asking her what an ambulance does following my astounding 6-year-old niece reading the big word. She got the gist. Then later:

“Does anyone have a King?”

I pretended to misunderstand the girl in our 3-person game of “Go Fish” & responded “I have a cane!” then proceeded to hand her my cane that stood on the floor on my left. Funny, right?

“No, King!” she chided me as she tapped her card firmly with her index finger, not impressed in the least with my lost attempt at laughs. The third participant was her little brother; the youngster turned 4 less than 2 months ago, mind you. He tried his best to answer the question “Do you have a 9?”

“Let me see,” said the baffled boy who wasn’t yet up to speed playing what he refers to as “Goed Fish.” The game does require number knowledge & recognition of Jack, Queen, King & Ace cards. Just give him time.

To his credit, however, my puzzled young nephew maintained a positive attitude in addition to his charming flat-out honesty:

“I don’t know what a 9 is.”

Another point in our day, as my 2 nieces & 2 nephews snacked ’round the white kitchen table before we exited their house to run an errand, the 4-year-old boy popped a question concerning the purpose for my very presence.

“Why ah you heah?”

Then he pretty much answered himself in his own follow-up oh-so-endearing inquiry:

“Because you love us?”

The End

By Aunt Amy

10-9-17

Leave a Reply

