“Sharpedo”

By Aunt Amy on 4.5.17

“An All-in Aunt” – the day of the story

“Did you make one foeh huh?” the 3-year-old in potty training was inquiring if his creatively talented Grandma also sewed a purse “for her” (his little sister). Upon being shown the cute new bag sewn for his sister of 6, he never missed an opportunity to speak up on the youngest one’s behalf.

“You need to make one foeh huh.” His older bro is impressive too:

“I can’t believe your name only has 3 letters but 2 syllables,” the seven-year-old thinker declared.

“I never thought of it like that,” responded Aunt Amy. “That’s a clever way of looking at it!”

Continuing our conversation while he sorted his beloved vast collection of Pokemon cards, – a favorite of his inspiring this story’s title – he asked a question.

“Do you know anyone besides me & my sister who are homeschooled?”

I surprised the second grader by reminding him that I was homeschooled for eighth grade after being diagnosed with leukemia over the summer & too ill to attend my last year of middle school.

Furthermore, Max serenaded his littlest sis with the song “Step By Step” by the late 80’s/early 90’s hit boy band New Kids on the Block in the kitchen at one point. All 3 of her older siblings rallied around their tiny sister to make sure she ate her midday meal too. On to time spent with my 6-year-old niece.

“Then I’ll wash it,” she replied matter-of-factly.

We were watching America’s Funniest Home Videos’ “It’s Tough Being a Kid” episode on Netflix in my room during our afternoon rest time; her 3 siblings watched “The Lion King” with their Grandma in the family room.

I’d just told my adorable niece that birds are dirty animals after she said she wanted one after seeing a funny clip of one. She had more to say to me earlier in her visit, though:

“I don’t like you.”

“What’d you say?” I asked one-hundred-percent taken aback, startled to hear those words coming out of her mouth.

“Aunt Amy, I don’t love you,” she continued while holding her little sister in her arms.

Well, I guess all of my time spent investing in the little girl, playing her favorite activities like coloring & “Chutes & Ladders” & discussing an array of topics countless times, meant nothing. Wow. But boy, what I heard next told me I needn’t fear the true feelings of the delightfully whimsical child.

Now THIS is more like it.

“I super love you!”

The End

 

Leave a Reply

