OOOUUUCH!

 2:08 – sitting in U of M Hospital waiting room to get an X-Ray of my post-surgery area on my upper right leg

2:38 – waiting with my spectacular Mom to see my orthopedic surgeon who performed my surgery 10-23-16 for a post-op check up

3:10 – discussing my bone health extensively during another appointment in the same room with a PA

3:55 – OOUUUUUUCH!!!!! – 3, count ’em THREE – P-A-I-N-F-U-L staple removal procedures from my 3 incision sites were performed ***Thankfully an awesome medical assistant Ashley happily & adeptly – but very painfully, mind you – cut out my 3 sets of multiple staples in my upper right leg. (I was TOTALLY 100% correct to be worried beforehand – the staple removal procedure hurt a heck of a lot.)

Staple Removal Tool post-procedure

Staple Removal Tool post-procedure

4:11 – back in the X-Ray waiting area to receive a bone density test advised in my bone health appointment

Does it ever end?

Does it ever end?

4:25 – called each of my 2 older sisters to describe this eventful day

 >>>> Caption: Radiographer Ed, an excellent U of M Hospital employee we've known for years & years & luckily crossed paths with today after he administered a bone density test then rolled me to get a blood draw


Radiographer Ed, an excellent U of M Hospital employee we’ve known for years & years & luckily crossed paths with today after he administered a bone density test then rolled me to get a blood draw

4:50 – blood test drawn with happy-to-report nearly completely painless poke

 5:15 – after a time at the hospital that lasted much longer than expected, my fantastic Mom & I stopped on the way home for a couple well-deserved nut-covered & delicious caramel apples

DISCLAIMER: The red spots on my face are a result of the pain medication in my system & will soon disappear.

Extra Tidbit, because, why not?

Loving this below quote that I read earlier, my worrying about my staples being taken out was proved to be worth the worry, since the action of clipping them from my tender post-op area was indeed an extremely “ouch-worthy” time. However, I also agree with the quoted saying from a Guideposts email.

“Worrying is like a rocking chair. It gives you something to do, but it doesn’t get you anywhere.”

 

Leave a Reply

