Ouch

“I’m not wearing that,” I unhappily spoke to the 2 nurses assigned to me in my ER room. Necessary Background: I was caught way way way off guard because I’ve never before had 2 nurses come on either side of my hospital cot/bed on wheels with the intention of DRESSING ME into a hospital gown. I’m 32, not 3! I don’t need help getting dressed into a gown, are you kidding me?

I refused grumpily right off the bat, but consented to wearing the gown to expedite the ER visit. (What’s quite amusing is that my initial rejection to wear the huge drafty ugly hospital gown might’ve – might’ve not – helped set the tone for my stay because the nurses didn’t come back together in my room ever again. Not once. Whoops.)

ER visit

Today’s ER visit

Waiting for leg X-Ray

Waiting for leg X-Ray

The research assistant in U of M’s ER was rattling off in my room which “prizes” were available after I agreed to complete an optional short survey on her iPod. She went on without looking up while rummaging through her bag: “A pencil holder, chapstick, hair ties.”

Optional Research Survey

Optional Research Survey

I whipped off my hat while she was still facing down & replied the only obvious choice. “Hair ties.”

When she looked up to see my bare head and realized offering me hair ties was completely ridiculous, the embarrassed lady apologized.

“Don’t worry about it.”

“What do you want?” she asked again. “The chapstick is really nice.”

“No, I’ll still take the hair ties.”

Hair Ties

Hair Ties

Blood draw & IV line in 1 vein

Blood draw & IV line in 1 vein

Lunch in ER

Lunch in ER

Upper right leg x-ray

Upper right leg x-ray

Although my leg x-ray showed no evidence of a fracture, I was offered an MRI if I was willing to wait more. . . No, thanks! I took up Dr. Marshall’s, an ER physician, offer for pain medication to get me through the intense pain of the next few days. My bones are such poor quality & thin (following devastating effects of my years-prior cancer treatment) that a kind male doctor told me seeing a break in a bone is therefore extra difficult.

A word to the wise: Try to avoid, at all costs, completely losing your balance & flailing around your bedroom out of control to ultimately end the ordeal by slamming – HARD – on your right side. Then you can prevent the day after your fall like this one pictured here, waiting around in the ER for SIX WHOLE HOURS with little action.

A high note: “I’m sorry I was so grumpy earlier,” I apologized to one of my initial nurses as she helped me prepare to leave. She was fine about it & brushed it off. Chalk one up for me, maybe?

But wait: On the way home I got a phone call in the car from another U of M doctor informing me of a non-displaced fracture in my bruised extremely sore thumb on my right hand after I showed it to a doctor & he ordered an x-ray. I can’t pinpoint exactly how I fell on my thumb in my crash last night, but it sure took a beating. The funny thing is, my Mom & I went to Emergency this morning for my upper right leg area, which is definitely the worst source of my current pain, but get the all-clear on that, yet come to find out in rush hour on the drive home that my itty bitty thumb revealed damage.

Right hand x-ray

Right hand x-ray

Saving clearly the best shot for last, my loving & deeply-committed-to-helping-me-achieve-better-health Remarkable Mom was the hands-down highlight of today!! Thanks for bearing with me through the thick & thin Mom, I love you!

Mom aka The Best Part of Today

Mom aka The Best Part of Today

21 To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps.

1 Peter 2:21 (NIV)

 

Leave a Reply

