“Bruce Almighty” story

By Amy

7-29-16

“I don’t want to leave my food,” I commented to Leah & my Mom while gazing at the scrumptious Cracker Barrel blueberry pancakes & tasty hashbrown casserole before me.  “But I’m going to use the bathroom.”

So I left, only to find two women near the bathroom sinks after I exited the stall. . . with my pants yet to be buttoned & my belt purposely flailing haphazardly. I felt the need to explain my odd-to-some – actually many think it’s strange – actions.

“I never button my pants till I wash my hands,” I said after turning to face the women. To my utter bewilderment this is the response I received:

“I do the same thing!” exclaimed one of them. I tried to disguise the sudden shock that enveloped me as I replied:

“I think it’s unsanitary to put my pants together until my hands’ve been cleaned with soap & water.”

“I know,” she agreed. “If you buckle your pants before you wash your hands it’s dirty because you’ve just used the bathroom. It’s different for me today because I’m wearing a dress.”

She went on, “I’m so glad to meet another person who thinks the same way!”

“People have seen me in public bathrooms and ask me ‘Do you need some help with that?’ or just silently shoot me weird looks because of this,” I said.

I also took advantage of the opportunity now that a conversation with the ladies had blossomed: “I’m a cancer survivor and the #1 reason a bald head is so cool,” I continued as I removed my straw hat, “is that you never have a bad hair day. God gave me strength to simultaneously conquer college with high honors with a major in communications: print journalism & minors in psychology & linguistics, & beat 8 years of fighting cancer.”

The nicely dressed women were still listening intently so I went on. “My favorite Bible verse is 1 Thessalonians 5:11″ & then proceeded to recite the verse while I held their engaged attention. “I try to live like a positive productive cancer survivor; it would be useless if I got sad because I walk with a cane.”

“What was that verse? 1 Thessalonians . . .”

“5:11.” Then the ladies introduced themselves.

“I’m Bridgette.”

“I’m Lakisha.”

“Now I’m going to tell my friends when they see me in the bathroom (at a restaurant), Amy does it too,” said Bridgette.

I told Bridgette my blog address & she pulled her cell from her purse to pull it up online.

“Yep, that’s it, it’s called ‘Pincushion 4 Pokes’ because you get poked all the time if you have cancer.” I showed the ladies my best vein in my left arm left over after years of cancer treatment taking its tough unforgiving toll on my body.

Then we hugged & parted ways. The Lord does work in mysterious ways, doesn’t He? Who’d have ever thought I’d briefly share my testimony – in a public bathroom no less – with two, albeit friendly, complete strangers? Like Bruce played by Jim Carrey in the 2003 film Bruce Almighty plans to say while signing off as a news anchor: “And that’s the way the cookie crumbles!”

Yep, just another unplanned & unexpected opportunity tossed in my path. Very nice meeting you, Bridgette & Lakisha!

The End

Leave a Reply

