“Mission Impossible” poem

Created during my cancer-fighting years when everything, not just gaining weight, presented a gigantic challenge (if only that problem still affected me today  . . . hello donuts & chocolate shakes!!):

I've clearly had a lifelong love of all things chocolate . . .

I’ve clearly had a lifelong love of all things chocolate . . .

. . . & donuts . . .

. . . & donuts . . .

Weight loss ads are all over the radio, magazines and TV

To solve the nation’s plague of obesity.

Overeaters are scrambling to get thin and fit.

I’m trying to do just the opposite.

Weight loss clinics, commercials that say get thin by popping a pill,

Lose weight challenges by Oprah and Dr. Phil.

I can’t reach triple digits, try as I might,

Unlike many others, I am in a weight-gaining fight.

Get extra calories by adding a banana to my Scandishakes,

Having Sarah not cook vegan in peanut butter cookies she makes.

It’s an uphill battle, scales at the cancer clinic don’t lie.

My goal is one-fifteen, I try and I try.

I’m beginning to think that the weight I am wishin’

Is not just a challenging, but nearly impossible mission.

The End

. . . & ice cream . . .

. . . & ice cream . . .

. . . & anything like this complimentary birthday sundae with my fellow eager ester niece!

. . . & anything like this complimentary birthday sundae with my fellow eager eater niece!

Leave a Reply

