“During Boston”

A poem I wrote about my first trip to Boston to get special lenses at age 20:

The trip turned out to be okay.

I got more acclimated with each passing day.

We chose the Marriott because it offered us a deal.

Often we were shuttled to the Boston eye clinic by a man named Sheldon Steele.

Sheldon is an intriguing character with great use of vocabulary.

At the eye clinic we met Dr. Rosenthal, whose first name is Perry.

Scleral Lenses have fluid that coats the eye,

Preventing it from getting dry.

Kim started the process the same day as me.

We both had success, for we both could soon see.

In the hotel gym, Mom and I met Justin, who was working out.

She told him what my trip here was all about.

Crossing streets in Boston is hazardous, at first we didn’t have a clue.

One night we talked to Newfoundland Chumley’s owner, a guy dressed in yellow and blue.

Nikki and Karen flew from California and the Scleral lenses were for Nikki’s eyes.

Not until you wear the lenses, what you’ve missed seeing you begin to realize.

Mom and I got a tour of the lab from Steve, to see where the Scleral Lenses are made.

It’s amazing when I wear them because I don’t require as much shade.

The clinic is presently in Chestnut Hill, the hotel’s in Brookline.

Boston turned out to be a visit more than okay, it was fine!

The End

(My left eyeball looks yellow in the photo due to drops put in my eyes at my doctor’s appointment.)

Leave a Reply

