All about that Knee, ‘Bout that knee, It’s trouble

Positioning Bad Left Knee for an x-ray

Positioning Bad Left Knee for an x-ray

First the office of my orthopedic surgeon mistakenly took an x-ray of my left hip. Wrong body part. Upon being corrected of their error, both my left & right knees (to compare their condition) were x-rayed (due to recent pain & weakness I’ve been experiencing in my left knee).

3 pieces of Useful Info. I Learned that’s Worth Sharing:

¥ Avascular Necrosis – an illness (affecting my left wrist, left knee & right ankle) where blood stops flowing to a bone, causing the bone to deteriorate then die – is most commonly found in people’s hips.

¥ Riding my recumbent exercise bike for 20 minutes/day will help improve knee pain & function.

¥ No longer need I be terrified of the day when the surgeon looks at my knee & says “Time for surgery!” (which should always be the very last resort once you’ve thoroughly exhausted all other options) Surprising to me, I was told knee-replacement surgery is my choice, when I can no longer stand the discomfort my left knee brings. What a HUMONGOUS relief! . . . My surgery date of choice: NEVER, please.

1 Peter 4:10 seems especially relevant today as I am once again (needlessly) reminded at my doctor appointment that I’m cut out for all things writing & nothing too physical:

And serve each other according to the gift each person has received, as good managers of God’s diverse gifts. 1 Peter 4:10

Awkward Squat-&-Stick-your-Butt-Out Pose for Knee X-Ray

Awkward Squat-&-Stick-your-Butt-Out Pose for Knee x-ray

 

Leave a Reply

