An Off Day

Back while I was receiving a treatment in my early 20s for GVHD called Extracorporal Photopheresis, we just had 1 of those days. I often did college homework at this time because the treatment involved the patient being hooked to a machine where you can’t walk around for roughly 3-4 hours.

Today things do not flow smoothly at all,

Mistake after mistake and lots of things tumble and fall.

All over the microwave trickled Aminah’s spilled tea

And Mac got to go home because he had no IV.

Someone knocked over a cup of coffee on this day, weird and blue.

Michelle somehow screwed up my ECP on cycle two.

I’m eating my apple from Susie that is organic

And if something else goes wrong, it does no good to panic.

Nancy monitors my machine with a flashlight-looking pen.

I hope that this day doesn’t happen again.

Today is the day of unusual stuff.

In Susie’s words, “Enough! Enough! Enough!”

Nancy chases a fly on this Thursday so rare.

I wonder what’s lingering in the air?

The End

Leave a Reply

