“An Encouraging Word” poem I wrote in ’05

I wrote this poem still thinking that my cane was a temporary annoyance. Little did I know .  . .

Stepping outside the theater where Jess and I saw Hitch today,

An elderly man stopped me while I was on my way.

I braced myself for the worst, ‘cuz negative remarks I’ve previously heard,

So I was more than pleasantly surprised to hear an encouraging word.

The man had a one-point cane but said he’d had one like mine,

But he had graduated, I saw, and was walking nearly fine.

He asked how long I’d had the cane and I answered him “June.”

His kind and understanding eyes assured me I’d be cane-less soon.

He said his name was Lou and asked my name, which I said so he could hear,

Even though I currently have trouble with “m” sounds, he repeated my name, clear.

Walking without a cane in hand is something I know I can do,

Thanks to the encouraging words of a nice man I call “Sweet Lou.”

The End

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

