Dino-mite

                                                                           by Aunt Amy 6-30-15

Error
This video doesn’t exist

A family of terrific talent they are. His father stopped by their Steinway & without any effort put his ivory intelligence to good use by creating some spontaneous-but-much-enjoyed-by-all-listeners ear enjoyment. (Max, at the end, shows his own flair for entertainment.) The following tale is from a short time earlier.

“Okay . . . I’m gonna play some basketball,” Maxwell my 6-year-old nephew decided aloud to play on the hoop in his bedroom. The boy called his little sister to follow. “C’mon Penelope!”

We were playing school & my super smart niece & nephew were my pupils. As the appointed teacher, I generously gave the students recess right at the start (but the real reason for doing so was to give Aunt Amy time to begin writing this very story). 

During our English lesson that came next, Pen, 4, flawlessly sang the alphabet. 

“L,” Max answered correctly after I asked what letter the word “lucky” starts with. 

“This is called ‘finger math’,” I explained as we moved on to another subject. “What is 4 minus 1?” I asked holding 4 fingers in the air as I had the full attention of the 2 young ones while they sat atop Max’s bed. I showed them how to get the answer by removing 1 finger.

Taking a step back from this academic anecdote, it’s hard to keep up with Max’s ever-changing interests. Just a short while ago it was all about superheroes including The Hulk & Spiderman; then came Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles; they were replaced soon after by Pokemon, building Legos, and playing pirates and dragons at Grandma & Grandpa’s house. I can barely keep up before my nephew’s moved on to the next cool toy. 

Why do children grow up so fast? Why do they want to? It’s funny, sad, special, unbelievable – to watch a child grow. It’s all those things & more when they see it – & vocalize it at their tender ages – too:

“Remember I used to like dinosaurs?” I was quite surprised when my barely-out-of-kindergarten nephew posed the question, not expecting to hear a child who is young already, to reflect on their own even younger years. He adorably went on. “That was cute.”

The youngster with the memory of an elephant took his nostalgia a step further by adding:

“I was obsessed with dinosaurs!”

 

The End

Leave a Reply

