Sick, Young & Supremely Scared

This is when my young life was forever changed.

This is when my young life was forever changed.

I found myself young, scared & Sobbing Uncontrollably on the little black and white family room couch in the weeks after my initial diagnosis of leukemia because:

× Reality punched me square in the face for the very first time that I was seriously ill

&

× I was indescribably horrifically one-hundred-and-twenty-five-thousand percent terrified of ever needing a bone marrow transplant (especially after seeing a girl patient younger than me in the hospital having one, and all the machines and complicated mess of tubes surrounding her 24/7) and what’s worse, even finding a person’s bone marrow that matched mine.

I must say, not all memories are good ones – clearly – and for that reason I’ve pushed the worst ones deep down in my brain, only to surface if something I happen to see or hear triggers a recollection to jump to the forefront.

 

Leave a Reply

