Family Flashback Friday

Years ago as a teenager fighting leukemia, there were innumerable times I received shots for various reasons. One particular incident clearly stands out: 

My Mom & sister Sarah were both with me as I received particularly painful stinging needle pokes. Sarah gave me her hand to grasp as the time for shots arrived. I was in such bad shape I couldn’t even talk.

“I don’t think it was that bad,” I vividly remember her telling my Mom after the shots were given to me. “She didn’t tighten her grip on my hand.” 

Well, duh! I recall thinking. When I did tighten my hold around your hand when I got the stinging painful shots, you couldn’t even tell the difference because I’m so weak right now!

Leave a Reply

