Chocolate Goatee

Redeemed I was later in the day (see this morning’s post) before my nephew karate chopped his orange-belt heart out. My 2 nephews, niece & I, along with my sister who provided the belated birthday celebration feast (better late than never, right?), clearly enjoyed chowing down on strawberries dipped in melted chocolate. A genuine & heartfelt thank you to Sarah for taking the liberty of using a spatula to slather my face with gooey warm chocolate for this photo shoot at the wrapping up of our fabulous festivities!

Dark chocolate + Aunt Amy = 100% happiness

A small – but hugely important – victory was achieved at karate school tonight. A cute little girl, no more than 6 or 7 years old, wearing a dark purple dress eyed me like I was some sort of outrageous alien she’s never before seen. Nevertheless, each time I caught her creeping around to snatch another long stare at me (it went on nonstop) – the cane coupled with no hair protruding from my purple winter cap probably weirded her out the most – I displayed confidence (which makes a person of any age feel more comfortable once they see you comfortable in your own skin) & said a friendly “Hi” & waved. Eventually she warmed up to me, after seeing me interact with my own niece and nephews around her age, to the point of feeling comfortable enough to play at my feet.

One person – tonight it was the young girl in the purple dress – at a time is all it takes to begin changing my own little world around me. Maybe not, but maybe so, now she’ll be less apprehensive when she encounters a cane-accompanied odd-looking-to-her-because-she’s-obviously-never-before-seen-somebody-who-looks-like-me individual. The world is changed one person at a time.

P.S. I LOVE MY FAMILY, & ENJOYED EVERY SECOND TODAY WITH MY SISTER & HER UNBELIEVABLY AWESOME CHILDREN!!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

