The Cat WAS the Hat

We’ve all, for the most part, likely read “The Cat in the Hat.” In many ways I differ from mass culture; you see, in my case, the cat WAS the hat. Pictured in lovely poses is Lacey Leona Pinkfire. After chemotherapy gave me the follicle-free look, frosty winter nights chilled my head and I didn’t know what to do. Somehow Lacey instinctively knew to curl atop my bare braincase. The long fluffy tail found on Maine Coon cats like her wrapped around my cold cranium and soothed me in warmth as I slept.

In addition to her outstanding abilities to shake & high-five on command, as well as push down the arm of a mechanical green piggy bank to insert a coin, the amazing animal was a beloved part of my family growing up from the time I was in third until eleventh grade. My sister Sarah trained her to do the tricks. My sister Carrie was notorious for holding Lacey & singing “Boom-shaka-laka-laka.” I turned her into a cuddling lap cat. My Mom is the one who named her & well, for my Dad she was another female in the house!

That’s all for now, I just wanted to share an important little “Lacey Bio” & the role fulfilled by those priceless paws to help me fight Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia. I heard dogs do, but do all cats go to heaven, too???

Leave a Reply

