Look Who’s Talking

Scattered inserting-lenses scene

Scattered inserting-lenses scene

Have you ever had the feeling that a part of your body is speaking to you? Well, I have. Today, following a late-night lack-of-restful-sleep weekend, my chronically dry eyes, both sore and far beyond exhausted, are crying out.

Immediate RELIEF!!!!!!!!!!and yes I do want to strongly emphasize that true term with six capital letters followed by 10 exclamation points – came after inserting my PROSE lenses into each dry eye.

First mentioned on a blog post on November 4, 2013, remember these special made custom-fit lenses satisfy multiple conditions that cause dry eyes. Mine lack fluid due to chronic graft versus host disease. In green, here’s the same paragraph I posted back in November:

PROSE (Prosthetic Replacement of the Ocular Surface Ecosystem) treatment was invented by Dr. Perry Rosenthal from the Boston Foundation for Sight. The Boston Foundation for Sight website explains that PROSE treatment “is a treatment to restore the vision of patients with complex corneal disease, enabling them to reclaim their lives. During PROSE treatment, doctors custom design and fit prosthetic devices to replace or support damaged ocular functions; improving vision and reducing pain and light sensitivity. BostonSight PROSE treatment is available at top-ranked academic medical centers and clinics around the world through our PROSE Provider Network.”

Individuals with dry eye-causing conditions including these have been helped by the thousands:

  • Chronic ocular graft-versus-host disease (GVHD)
  • Dry eye syndrome
  • Sjogren’s syndrome
  • Stevens-Johnson syndrome
  • Keratoconus
  • Ocular trauma
  • Complications of LASIK
  • Complications of cornea transplantation

While my amazing lenses that constantly provide fluid to my damaged corneas are in my eyes, I can’t help but randomly think very gratefully over and over to myself, My eyes feel SO good. I share my experience in hopes of helping you or someone you know with their dry eye problems. Eye’ll catch you later – my stomach is politely but persistently telling me it’s mealtime.

Leave a Reply

