Give God the Glory & Share your own Story

PART I

Thanks, God.

As I practiced my speech yesterday morning for a meaningful pediatric cancer fundraiser that evening, I went over the four points I especially wanted to remember. One was not forgetting (although it did ultimately escape my memory) to quote my favorite Bible verse, 1 Thessalonians 5:11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing. 

Armed with a goal to use my life that God blessed me with as a cancer survivor to encourage and relate to others, most importantly I acknowledge Him as the Reason for my triumph. Earlier Saturday I received welcomed assurance that brought joy to my heart and made me wholly certain I’m right where God wants me to be at this exact moment. 

I took a few minutes between rehearsing my talk to check my email. I’m signed up for Guideposts magazine’s Daily Scripture & Reflection newsletter. Of ALL the 66 books of the Bible, each with hundreds if not thousands of verses within them, guess which one was chosen for yesterday’s verse? 

1 Thessalonians 5:11 

PART II

Seventeen years ago a diagnosis of Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia changed my life forever. For some reason I survived four relapses and eight years of grueling cancer treatment. 

Last night the reason came to life. 

Our Almighty & All-Knowing God blessed me with continuous strength to win my battle against cancer. He knew that one day I would live to honor Him by sharing my cancer story & giving Him the glory He deserves. My all-time one hundred percent never-going-to-change FAVORITE thing in this trek called life is the incredible rush I get when I KNOW I’ve delivered a successful talk about my own experiences & served to encourage a listening crowd . . . & brought a generous dose of laughter, because everything on earth is probably better with a helping of humor.

Leave a Reply

