Lights … Camera … Nephews!

January 26, 2009

 I played “I Spy” with my 4-year-old nephew. I said, “I spy with my little eye a smart boy who’s really nice and plays sports really well and is a great dancer and singer.” I proceeded to say I was tricking him because the only way to see who I spied was to look in a mirror because I was spying him.

Uh-oh. Then the tables turned (towards me). The boy said, “I spy someone who doesn’t walk very well and is really fun to play with.”

January 28, 2009

My four-year-old nephew commented about the sparse stubble on my shaved head: “You have a nice color but it’s not really a color.”

January 28, 2009

I was given a clear example of a child interpreting words literally after saying my left knee is bad. My 2-year-old nephew interpreted “bad” as “naughty” (a word the spirited youngster is very familiar with), causing him to yell “No!” as he tried to spank my left knee.

November 2009

  The three-year-old was found upstairs in his house shaving a clump of

hair off his head.  My Mom aka his Grandma asked him the next day at his house,

“Were you trying to look like Grandpa?” (He is bald.)

            “No, Amy,” came the innocent reply from the little one who has grown in his short life thinking my permanent hair loss is normal.

Leave a Reply

