2-Parts Blog: a List & a Story

PART I

(Today) 2nd Soars to #1 as lots of good things come in 2s:

  1. Joy is the 2nd Fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22).
  2. Today, July 30, marks my turning 30 ½, or as I never fail to point out, my half-birthday aka 2nd birthday celebration of the year.
  3. My 2nd niece joined me as we dined on my favorite dessert: fabulous chocolate-covered strawberries!

 

PART II

“It’s My (aunt’s half-birthday) Party & I’ll Cry if I want to” 

A lot of times my baby nephew who turns one next month snoozes soundly in my arms. A lot of times, even more now that he’s increasingly mobile, he prefers me more than ever before. Handsome little Harrison employs his fast method of crawling without his knees touching the floor and a lot of times, the little guy stretches out his arms for me to scoop him up.

 

Nonetheless, the tuckered out baby refused my open arms when his loving mother tried to pass him to me on the couch in their family room this afternoon.

 

Never mind the fact that it’s his doting aunt’s second birthday of the year because he’s obviously too young to know to try to “spread the cheer” all day. Never mind the fact that his Aunt Amy loves to snuggle with him any given chance.

 

Shaking her head as she stood on the couch on my left, his 3-year-old beautiful brown-haired sister declared, “My brother doesn’t want you.”

 

Luckily Penelope was there to ensure her aging aunt fully grasped the magnitude of the situation.

 

Less than three seconds later, she echoed and added on to her initial statement to be one hundred percent certain we were on the same page, “My brother doesn’t want you and he’s crying.”

 

 THE END

God Bless the honesty of children.

God Bless the honesty of children.

Leave a Reply

