Tell it Like it is (Written 2 years ago on 8-11-12)

Life is a Permanent Process of Learning

Life is a Permanent Process of Learning

“By being calm we show that we trust in God. Lord, direct me towards peace.”

– Guideposts Email Today

I am a 28-year-old cancer survivor and due to damaging side effects from cancer treatment still live with my parents. I don’t choose to stay here, but it’s the best place financially and physically for me now, and obviously God’s plan for part of my life.

The reason I like living in my parents’ house is because I get to see my nephews and nieces a lot, because they come over often. That’s a big perk. I embrace peace and quiet times I get.

My hope is to get blessed with a life change – SOON – where I live, happily, apart from my parents and sisters. I can then live as the adult that I am. A child is all they ever see when they look at me. That frustrates me when I let myself get upset about it. In the meantime, I can set my sights on consciously growing closer to God and trying to remember – DAILY – to live a life with the attitude of Christ. I need to make a decision every single morning to honor Him every single day.

 

NOW, TODAY, JUNE 9, 2014 at age 30, since writing the above piece two years ago, I’ve been continually reminded of the lessons:

♥  that I need to always trust God’s Perfect Timing – in both big & small changes happening in my life – because events will unfold at His Will & not a millisecond sooner;

○ I need to try to live peacefully among those around me;

☼ that the more complicated life becomes, the harder it is to live the Christian life that I want to live; in other words, quoting Captain Von Trapp from “The Sound of Music,” my favorite movie since kindergarten, “Activity suggest a life of purpose.” Suggests.

♀ Finally, I’d like to be content in the area I was clearly placed in early in my life, which I refer to as the “cancer world.” 1 Corinthians 7:20 says, Each person should remain in the situation they were in when God called them.

Leave a Reply

