The Pursuit of “Hearing-ness”

Image

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds. James 1:2

You’ve got to be kidding. I’m supposed to be happy stuck in this present predicament where my nose is stuffed to the max & my ears are so clogged I can barely hear?

Last night from nine till midnight I was watching “The Pursuit of Happyness” starring Will Smith, which chronicles Chris Gardner’s almost year-long struggle with homelessness before revealing that Gardner went on to form his own multi-million dollar brokerage firm. Watching is the operative word because my hearing has been like a Brachiosaurus dinosaur, nonexistent.

The word frusrated doesn’t suffice my current situation: a fitting adjective escapes me. What does one say when she is robbed of her vital ability to hear from both of her ears for an undetermined chunk of time?

On the other hand, employing a much more productive & positive outlook changes everything. What a remarkable much-needed & embraced reminder to be so incredibly thankful each & every single day for each & every seemingly small but significant ability, like seeing, hearing, walking with my four-point cane, or smelling.

It’s amazing to stand back and look at the magnitude at which a life is altered with the absence of just one (supposedly) simple but fundamental yet way-too-often-taken-for-granted capability. But then again, we’re all being shaped through trials of all kinds to become better human beings, right? If I call myself a Christian, I’m supposed to trust God to give me strength to face challenges head-on. Read below the verse in the Bible that immediately follows the one at the top.

Because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. James 1:3

 

I’d like to give props to my magnificent Mom for her artistic action to design today’s photo.

Leave a Reply

