Skip the (1-10) Scale

I strongly oppose the question by health care professionals asking a person to assess their pin on a "scale of 1-10 d(pictures is a favorite former phlebotomist Jonathan who's not related to today's blog topic).

I STRONGLY oppose the question by health care professionals asking a person to assess their own pain or condition on a “scale of 1-10” (pictured is a favorite former phlebotomist Jonathan who’s not related to today’s blog topic).

Hate” is a strong word, I know, but if I were to apply that emotion to a cluster of words it would without question be these: Can you tell me how you’re feeling on a scale of 1-10?

For one thing, I think it really depends on the person. What I may say is a 4, someone else experiencing the exact same symptoms at the exact same level of intensity may say 7. See? Health care professionals asking people to estimate their own level of pain isn’t reliable.

For another, does my answer determine how seriously you’ll take my health concerns? Consequently, will I only get treatment to clear up my illness if I give you a large number?

For those reasons I detest the question. Too many times have passed when my doctors didn’t believe me after I told them I was ill. I suppose I wasn’t acting “sick” enough. (I’m certainly not one to exaggerate feeling poorly; quite the opposite is true. I never would’ve accomplished anything had I easily caved to feeling under the weather; instead, I was and remain a fierce fighter, armed with strength to persevere from Almighty God.) Looking back at my health history, my doctors would’ve seen that every time I voiced a health concern, there was a serious health problem requiring immediate treatment.

So there you have it. Simply Skip the Scale.

Leave a Reply

