FINAL ACT II of “Did You Know . . .”

College Presentations enhanced by Lovely Little Leah (on a sidenote, due to cranial radiation, that's where my hair would grow in sparsely on the sides of my head - if I didn't make the MUCH BETTER decision to shave it ALL off!)

My college presentations were enhanced by Lovely Little Leah (on a sidenote, due to cranial radiation, that’s where my hair would grow in sparsely on the sides of my head – if I didn’t make the MUCH BETTER decision to shave it ALL off!).

  . . . when I was a junior, my oldest sister Carrie made my day by taking me out of high school for half an hour in the middle of the school day to go out to lunch at our favorite Chinese restaurant, Ming’s Chop Suey in Redford, Michigan (where you can find the best egg rolls, almond chicken, sweet and sour chicken, and gravy)?

. . . ever since I was little I’ve had this hang up about eating meat and I psych myself out by thinking of a dead animal rolling around in my mouth, so nowadays I blissfully dine as a happy vegetarian?

. . . I can’t help but cringe when people I’m driving with become frustrated and call an unskilled driver an “Aimer,” because that’s also my nickname?

. . . my retainer is still worn every single night after having braces in my teens, because I highly value straight nice teeth, and sticking with the subject of pearly whites, my worst recurring nightmare is my teeth falling out?

. . . even though my head is bald I still use shampoo because I don’t want a smelly scalp?

. . . my eyes no longer fully close due to side effects from years of damaging treatment for my leukemia?

. .  I discovered a titanium screw in the back of my head that the surgeons failed to tell me about when they used the screw to close my skull after having a brain biopsy?

. . . IV lines ended up being inserted in my feet (which is really painful when you get stuck with a needle over and over again because veins in your feet constantly jump around when poked) because all my other veins had collapsed and were therefore inaccessible?

. . . I almost had surgery to get a central line in my groin for kidney dialysis WHILE I WAS STILL AWAKE because I was so terribly ill the surgical staff thought I was already knocked out (it was only after I heard them say “Ok, let’s start” that I managed to feebly utter “No, you can’t start, I’m still awake” – and that’s the last thing I remember)?

. . . my two brothers-in-law Donte’ and Mike are undoubtedly the coolest and by far the best brothers-in-law in the history of all types of in-laws?

. . . Leah, my intelligent-beyond-her-years young close friend, held her own as a youngster and appeared with me in not one, but two, of my college presentations I aced, one of them dressed in the green dragon costume pictured above?

Leave a Reply

