Live (in the hospital) & Learn

Use clear wording on signs to be fully understood!

Use clear wording on signs to be fully understood!

Be clear if you post a sign on your hospital door regarding some aspect of your hospital care. When I was a teenager, my Mom made a sign for the hospital door that read “No Blood Draws Without Parent Present.” My Mom wanted to be right there to make sure everything was handled properly. The phlebotomist drawing my blood explained, “Well, you were in the room” after my Mom awoke in my hospital room to find a person drawing my blood. The phlebotomist caught my Mom on a technicality: the sign failed to say a parent had to be awake and present. Needless to say, the sign was immediately modified.

Leave a Reply

