Seriously, NOT! Today’s trio tidbit:

I ate my cold sun butter & honey sandwich the 2nd half of the 2-hour art class, which is offered monthly to cancer patients (along with a friend or family member) at the University of Michigan’s Cancer Clinic, today for 2 reasons:

one, it’s an excellent way to pass the time by not having to engage in art (which seriously isn’t my thing), &

two, I was hungry as the hour was lunchtime.

Right on! I luckily needed to take a bathroom break during art class. Upon my return, the doorknob failed to turn & felt like it was locked, so I gladly embraced my circumstances. Like I told music therapist Peter when he left the art room 10 minutes later & I contentedly sat outside on a chair, “A minute spent not in art class is a minute well spent.”

A music therapist – the aforementioned Peter – was present to perform live with his guitar, as opposed to the usual playing of a CD during the class. His presence I especially welcomed because he brought a new dynamic to the art therapy all-female group.

After several minutes of talking I rummaged through my Vera Bradley food cooler searching for a certain piece of chocolate. Did I mention I’m not at all artistic so the class, for me, serves as an outlet to be goofy?

“Can you catch?” I asked Peter, tossing him a small green-wrapped Hershey’s chocolate whose famous shape & name we all know. “I’ve wanted to give you a kiss since I first met you.”

Leaving the Cancer Clinic's Art Class

Leaving the Cancer Clinic’s Art Class

 

 

Leave a comment